top of page

Lucky and Bella


Both mother and son, Bella and Lucky came to the kennel in 2013 while I was helping out to rehab other dogs in Uncle Khoe's shelter.

My first impression of them was what I have heard from others.

“They are very naughty”,

“Aggressive to other dogs”,

“they are too hyper”,

“They can’t walk well on leash”

I remember the first time I went into their kennel to check on them.

Of course, I will be lying if I say I wasn’t taken aback by all those remarks! I could really feel their hyperactivity when I stepped into their room.. So jumpy and playful! I knew it will not be easy to help these dogs but I just thought it’s just not fair to say that the dog is bad or "unsaveable" without even trying.

So late 2013, rehabilitation started for Lucky and Bella.

Being stray dogs and out on the streets ever since they were born, they do not know what’s a collar, leash, harness. How do we expect them to know they are supposed to wear that and walk nicely beside us? It took months before they can come out of the kennel for a short walk and then months later before I can take them out of the pet farm for further walks.

Bella used to be really reactive ( I will not use the word aggressive) even when a dog opposite the road on the other side, she will growl and wanting to lunge forward initially. I would not say she is totally calm now but she is definitely better than 2 years ago. No more wanting to lunge forward, just look and walk away when prompted. She also walks really well on leash if you don’t put her to stress by bringing other dogs close to her. Let her have her own space while walking! Come on, we humans also don’t like it if some random people walk so close to us right?

Now she loves going out for walks. Her eyes sparkle when she sees the collar and leash. Then she will sit and wait patiently for her collar to be worn. What a good girl right? All it takes is correct guidance and patience.

The challenges for rehabilitation of Lucky is different from Bella. Being young, he is easily excited and intrigued by new things and tend to go everywhere on the leash. Luckily he is smart (and greedy which makes training a lot easier and fun!). After much positive reinforcement and training, Lucky is able to go out for walks with me. He enjoys rolling around in the bushes and doing his signature leopard crawl. Do you know he can also do fetch for his toys? How many shelter dogs can do that? (Sometimes not even our home dogs can do that.)

Rehabilitation is a long process. Lucky and Bella may not the perfect dream dogs but they have come a long way and never never fail to surprise me every time with their little milestones. No dogs are perfect. But they all deserved a chance if you are willing to try.

From Lucky's and Bella'smain handler.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page